LCSC Athletics

LEWISTON - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association announced the 2020 ITA Scholar-Athletes and All-Academic Teams on Thursday, and both the men's and women's Lewis-Clark State teams earned the status of All-Academic. Seven Warrior women and six men garnered ITA Scholar-Athlete honors. This marks the eighth year in a row that the women’s team has qualified for the award, and the third in a row for the men.

“It is always so nice to see the testament to their sustained efforts in the academic setting,” Coach Kai Fong said. “I don’t know how they do it. They work part time, they practice, they travel and they compete. They are truly something else. They are Academic Warriors!”

Sophie Uhlenkott, Laura Diaz and Begona Andres were all named ITA Scholar-Athletes for the third time in their careers. Laura Rosselli picked up her second award while Kyla Collier, Lizzy Bremer and Alexis Masion all made their debut on the list.

On the men’s side, Marcus Gavelin earned the third ITA Scholar-Athlete nod of his career. William Burchard, Roberto Salazar and Gregory Arthur all picked up their second award and Luca Menezes and Vannasak Chheang both garnered their first.

To be named an ITA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must have a grade point average of at least 3.5 for the current academic year. To be named an ITA All-Academic Team, the team must have a grade point average of at least 3.2.