Inslee at Skagit Emergency Operations Center

Inslee being briefed by staff at the Skagit Emergency Operations Center.  Photo: Inslee Facebook

OLYMPIA, WA - Gov. Jay Inslee issued an emergency proclamation Thursday for 19 Washington counties due to weather conditions forecast to continue through this weekend.  On Friday Inslee expanded the list by adding Walla Walla County.

“These storms caused injuries, significant power outages, evacuations, road damage, temporary road closures and detours, rail line closures, and extensive damage to homes, businesses, public utilities, public facilities, electrical power systems, infrastructure and property,” Inslee said in the proclamation.

Road damage caused by recent snow is estimated at more than $3 million and required WSDOT to commence work immediately to repair affected roadways through the implementation of emergency procurement procedures to alleviate impacts to public safety. The proclamation affects Clallam, Clark, Cowlitz, Grays Harbor, Island, Jefferson, King, Kitsap, Lewis, Mason, Pacific, Pierce, San Juan, Skagit, Skamania, Snohomish, Thurston, Wahkiakum, and Whatcom Counties.  Walla Walla County was added to the proclamation on Friday.

The Washington Military Department’s Emergency Management Division continues to monitor and coordinate response activities. The proclamation directs state agencies to utilize state resources to do everything reasonably possible to assist affected communities. It also allows the state to apply for federal Department of Transportation funds to help permanently repair roadways.