Kansas City Tiebreaker

MOSCOW - After a regular season filled with chaos under the Friday night lights, the 5A Inland Empire League District champion will be determined under the Monday night lights, in a rare Kansas City Tiebreaker.

The Lewiston Bengals (7-2), Coeur d'Alene Vikings (6-2) and Post Falls Trojans (5-4), who all finished IEL play with a 2-1 record, will come together at a neutral site in Moscow to determine a District champion and playoff seeding.

What is a Kansas City Tiebreaker?

Monday's IEL tiebreaker will consist of three teams, who will all play each other in a round robin format with rules similar to those of college overtime.

Team A will play Team B, with both teams getting an opportunity to possess the ball. Each drive will start at the opponents 25 yard line. If Team A starts with the ball, Team B will then also have an offensive opportunity to match or best the points scored on the first drive by Team A.

The winning team of the first round will then play Team C. The round robin format will continue until someone is eliminated.

What's on the line?

A District Championship and playoff bids. While the stakes are high for all teams, Post Falls is the only team of the three that can have their season effectively ended tonight.

The District currently receives two automatic bids to the Idaho 5A playoffs, but a third team can also qualify via an at large bid. If either Lewiston or Coeur d'Alene finishes third in the Kansas City Tiebreaker, they will still receive an at large bid after impressive regular seasons. The Trojans do not have that luxury. Post Falls must finish either first or second Monday night to receive a bid to the postseason. If they finish third, their season is over.

Although they are both already guaranteed at worst an at-large bid, both Lewiston and Coeur d'Alene are playing for seeding, and a potential opportunity to play a playoff game at home.

When and Where?

The three-way IEL Tiebreaker will take place Monday, October 25, 2021 at Moscow High School (neutral site). First whistle is scheduled for 6:00pm.