BOISE - During the 2019 Idaho Legislative session, a law was passed that requires registered vehicle owners to have vehicle insurance or the DMV will suspend the vehicles registration. Effective January 1, 2020, the Idaho Transportation Department will be required to suspend a vehicle registration when the vehicle has an active registration, but no insurance coverage for three consecutive months.
When registrations are identified as having no valid insurance for two consecutive months, ITD will be required to notify the owner of the vehicle. Owners will then have 30 days to provide proof of insurance or provide an exception to ITD, or the registration will be suspended. The Idaho DMV will use an online insurance verification system to ensure vehicle owners have insurance coverage.
If you have a policy from an out-of-state insurer that is not reported to the Idaho DMV, you will be classified as not having insurance until an alternative method of proof is provided.
To reinstate a vehicles registration after it has been suspended will require a $75 fee and proof of insurance. Some customers may qualify to be exempt or have exemptions.